Maine's Best Wedding DJs :: Reviews & Testimonials

Our business is based on music and planning quality, great service for you and your family, and making sure everything goes as planned. We’re only happy when you love the job we do!  These are real reviews, written by real couples who have loved our services over the years. Here’s what some of our previous clients have said about Ryan Gavin, Brian James, Dom Lavoie, Tom Doucette, Annie Snook, and our Maine Made Weddings DJs:

Click here to read our reviews on The Knot!

All I can say is “wow!” From the very beginning virtually meeting Ryan with our phone calls, his communications, accommodations, complete and total investment in us- we couldn’t have wished for a better DJ to keep our family and friends dancing all night long. With a few special requests, the willingness of adaptability to our tastes and special songs was unmeasured. Ryan, I cannot thank you enough for making our music dreams come true. From walking down the aisle to “Now We Are Free”, to our parent dances, to the impromptu dance party before the dance door opened, to our closing song of “Coast of Maine”, I do not even have words to begin to thank you and I cannot wait to relieve this day over and over again in my head. We can’t wait to see you again and to continue to keep in touch! All the best!”
★★★★★ Hannah & Michael in York, Maine 5/14/2022

Ryan absolutely MADE our wedding. He was so kind, attentive and so easy to work with. Our planning calls were fun and such a breeze. During the wedding, every song was perfection. Our dance floor was constantly packed. Our guests were telling us they didn’t even leave for drinks because they didn’t want to miss dancing to the next song! Take it from me, this is your guy!!”
★★★★★ Kelsey in York, Maine 5/7/2022

Ryan’s organization, friendliness, responsiveness, and professionalism made our reception an absolute blast! He was insanely detail oriented and we appreciated that so much. The dance floor was an absolute blast during our reception and our entire wedding party and guests couldn’t stop raving about Ryan. He listened to all our requests and gave awesome suggestions of his own. Coordinating with our reception venue was a breeze and our wedding coordinator at The Stonehurst Manor also stated how professional and fun he was to work with. Book Ryan!”
★★★★★ Rebecca and Matt in North Conway, New Hampshire 4/30/2022

Ryan Gavin was a spectacular DJ for our daughter’s wedding on April 9, 2022! He was very professional and fun to plan with. The evening music and all the special moments were seamless from the cocktail hour to the final moments of the reception. His friendly and enthusiastic demeanor engaged all guests. We highly recommend Ryan and Maine Made Weddings for your special event.”
★★★★★ Val in Camden, Maine 4/9/2022

Thank you for making our special day even more special! Dom was terrific and from the very start you guys have been a class act to work with. Your service has been extremely professional and respectful of planning our wedding. We highly recommend Dom & Ryan and Maine Made Weddings if you want a very classy and tasteful DJ service for an elegant wedding!”
★★★★★ Kim & Peter in Kennebunkport, Maine 3/17/2022

Ryan was AMAZING! I knew from the beginning that he was going to be the DJ we chose for our special day. He was quick to respond and was more than happy to answer all of our questions. He did not pressure us into anything but was great at explaining everything he had to offer. He was also more than happy to change our wedding date this past year when we asked. He was great communication wise (and that is HUGE when you’re planning a wedding) and I felt 100% confident our day would be perfect with him and it definitely was. He went over so many things with us, even things we didn’t even think of. We were able to select and listen to music easily and picking our lighting preferences was fun too! He played all the music we requested plus more and was more than happy to play songs requested by quests as well (he made sure to ask us if things like that were okay ahead of time.) I 100% recommend using Ryan for your special day – you won’t be disappointed!”
★★★★★ Cody & Will in South Berwick, Maine 12/17/2021

Ryan is AMAZING. The entire day was perfect and flawless. He read the dance floor and kept our guests interested and involved. We couldn’t have asked for a better DJ that’s just totally open and willing to do anything!! Thank you Ryan!!”
★★★★★ Chelsea & Brenden in Rangeley, Maine 11/13/2021

Ryan was absolutely phenomenal! He was very courteous and easy to work with, and extremely accommodating. He met with us in advance and made sure he understood what we wanted prioritized. On wedding day, he made sure that the reception went smoothly, did a great job announcing, and made the party a huge success. We would highly recommend Maine Made Weddings!”
★★★★★ Bridgette & John in Ellsworth, Maine 11/6/2021

Ryan was amazing! He was professional and funny, helpful and polite. He helped us through the entire planning process for our Halloween wedding, and during the wedding had a great selection of music along with the tracks we had selected. The entire experience was made way easier with him to help!”
★★★★★ Marley & Ais in Orono, Maine 10/31/2021

If we could give more than 5 stars we absolutely would!!!!!! Ryan is such a kind person and is so easy to talk to! We met face to face for the first time while I was walking down the aisle and I felt like I’ve known him for years. He is incredibly knowledgable on anything music and flow of the evening – things you wouldn’t even THINK are important (who knew we needed to plan when the cake cutting would happen and also have a song picked out for it!?). He was always super responsive and took the time to go over the timeline with us a few times to make sure that the day would run smoothly – and OH MY GOODNESS it was the smoothest day. The ceremony was incredibly played, and our reception was the absolute part of the year. Ryan kept everyone on the dance floor, played the perfect set of music in the perfect order. There was never a dull moment. We cannot recommend Ryan enough, you won’t be disappointed!”
★★★★★ Kaitlyn & Michael in Bethel, Maine 10/10/2021

Our wedding was the best night of our lives truly. Everyone was dancing and having a blast and that was because of how great Ryan was! Leading up to the wedding, we had two meetings with Ryan and he led us through each detail to ensure we would get everything we wanted. He put our minds at ease with how organized he was. We even added an extra event in which people had to pay $3 to listen to Jessie’s girl (groom’s name is Jesse) and he went all in with clipping the song perfectly to play whenever someone dropped cash in the bucket. It was a huge hit and so much fun! We highly recommend Ryan for any event!”
★★★★★ Kelsey & Jesse in Portland, Maine 10/9/2021

Three weeks before our wedding, my now husband and I were left scrambling to find a new DJ! We looked here and sent out a few mass requests & Ryan Gavin got back to us almost immediately saying our date was available! Within minutes, Ryan had us set up for a zoom meeting to meet him. We met the next day and started the planning shortly after; Ryan’s energy and enthusiasm was unbeatable. Even with the time crunch, Ryan went above and beyond to ensure us that we were in good hands & to make sure we could relax and have fun. His professionalism & attention to detail during our planning was far beyond what we could have imagined. He even designed our own monogram and took our wants to the next level to make our wedding day the best it could be! We are so thankful for Ryan and Maine Made Weddings for literally saving our wedding day!”
★★★★★ Sydney & Ryan in Portsmouth, New Hampshire 9/3/2021

We absolutely loved working with Ryan! He’s both an amazing DJ and a great person to work with before the wedding. All our guests sang his praises. He did an amazing job adjusting the music to the crowd’s energy and keeping our guests dancing all night. We also really appreciated Ryan’s ability to balance our own input with his expertise. Ryan was so accommodating, meeting with us before our wedding to discuss what we wanted, answering our questions, and making sure we were 100% happy. We booked Ryan on short notice but his flexibility, friendliness, and calmness gave us so much confidence throughout the process and on the day of the wedding. Do yourselves a favor and hire Ryan, we can’t recommend him highly enough!”
★★★★★ Eliza & Dave in Portland, Maine 8/13/2021

We had to find a DJ somewhat short notice, so I would’ve settled for basically anyone at that point. I had low expectations. But wow, my expectations were exceeded times 1000 by Maine Made Weddings. From the very beginning, Ryan was extremely organized and in close contact with us. I loved the website; we could literally go in anytime we wanted and customize the worksheet of the entire night. He facilitated the whole night just spectacularly! He was so sweet and worked with all of our requests, and our rowdy family and friends. I would absolutely recommend Ryan and I’m sure anyone else in this company. Couldn’t have asked for more, and the pricing was great too. 10/10!”
★★★★★ Sarah & Tom in Concord, New Hampshire 8/6/2021

Ryan was a stellar DJ. He was professional and excellent right from the beginning and was flexible with our COVID reschedule. During our planning session he provided us with a framework and was able to steer us in the right direction. Ryan provided the majority of the playlist for the wedding and our guests danced all night long! We couldn’t have asked for a better DJ!!”
★★★★★ Shelby & Matt in South Paris, Maine 7/31/2021

Ryan was such a joy to work with during our wedding in Bar Harbor. He was readily available via email and Zoom meetings to help us smooth out timelines for our reception. Due to COVID and the Canadian border not opening, our guest list was cut in half very close to the wedding. Ryan had great ideas to help us figure out games in case our guests did not want to dance, and was willing to emcee for us! He was great with unexpected/on the fly requests when we decided to do a big sing along last minute. He was fantastic and we would definitely recommend Maine Made Weddings to anyone!”
★★★★★ Jen & Dave in Bar Harbor, Maine 7/2/2021

Ryan was an excellent DJ. He met with us multiple times to go over the timeline, music selection, and answer any questions we had. On wedding day, he played fantastic selections that kept everyone on the dance floor. He was very professional and so easy to work with! And the price is hard to beat!! Thanks again for a great wedding, Ryan!”
★★★★★ Brenda & Nate in Yarmouth, Maine 5/28/2021

Ryan Gavin and Maine Made Weddings made sure the soundtrack to our day was perfect! We felt so lucky to have scored such a highly coveted DJ for our wedding day. When we were doing our initial search for DJs there was some sticker shock. We were worried our DJ dreams would be compromised, but then we found Ryan’s company and it was a done deal! We think Maine Made Weddings is the best deal out there, there wasn’t a single thing missing from our experience and we didn’t have to put ourselves in debt. We got to meet with Ryan and share our musical vision for the day, he was very helpful in customizing everything for us. Everything was so easily organized on an online portal we could log in and add different songs anytime we wanted before the big day. Plus with Ryan’s experience and professionalism he always picked the right song for every moment, too. We really appreciated his extra hard work during the COVID-19 pandemic as our nuptials did have to be postponed. He was very flexible and made it very easy for us! We definitely recommend Maine Made Weddings to every couple!”
★★★★★ Carrie & Jared in South Berwick, Maine 5/22/2021

We had a very last minute Covid wedding and the event would not have been half of what it was without Ryan as our DJ. He was absolutely amazing through every step of the way and worked with us to achieve a years worth of planning on our timeline! We had many specific personalization requests and he made it all happen! We worried about what a dance floor would be like with only a few guests but he took requests all night and kept our wedding upbeat and energized! Not to mention, he placed high emphasis on safety and worked with us to achieve a safe environment for everyone at our wedding. We would absolutely recommend him to anyone!”
★★★★★ Shannon & Matt in York, Maine 10/23/2020

Ryan did a great job DJing our wedding! He was super personable and carefully listened to our wants and needs throughout the planning process. He did a great job keeping the party going throughout the night- our dance floor was full, start to finish! Highly recommended!”
★★★★★ Brittany & Alex in Hallowell, Maine 10/26/2019

Our DJ, Ryan Gavin, truly outdid himself and our expectations both leading up to and during our wedding day. The team is extremely detail-oriented and wants to curate not only a playlist, but also an experience that it completely tailored to the couple. Before our wedding date, Ryan and I went back and forth quite a bit on what types of music we would like to be played, the logistics of the day, and most importantly who Alex and I were. There were zero hiccups, and Ryan’s professionalism was incredible. Additionally, the amount of reviews we got from our guests about the music was incredible! Music is one of, if not the most important element to any wedding and when people rave about the songs we played – we knew we made the right decision with Ryan. I cannot recommend Maine Made Weddings enough… and in particular Ryan for making our day absolutely perfect.”
★★★★★ Megan & Alex in Buxton, Maine 10/19/2019

Ryan is great to work with, and I highly recommend him as a DJ for your special event! Everyone knows that music can make or break a party, but Ryan had everyone dancing our entire reception with old-school requested hits, rock songs, and our favorite pop tunes. He’s super open to your style, and works to accommodate your requests. We had different styles of music from our cocktail hour, to dinner and the reception… and it all went seamlessly. Thanks, Ryan!”
★★★★★ Danielle & Ryan in Saco, Maine 10/5/2019

Ryan was very professional, friendly, funny (!), and accommodating. He put up with all of our unusual requests and over-reactive personalities and always knew from the beginning how to put on a great show! There was nothing we asked of him that he couldn’t do, and we couldn’t have asked for a better DJ. If you’re ever doing something special or unusual, this is your guy. He makes it look easy so you don’t have to worry at all!”
★★★★★ Anthony & Hannah in Portland, Maine 9/14/2019

Hi Brian, We just wanted to reach out and thank you again for your services this weekend… It was awesome! Everyone loved you guys, and you kept everyone on the dance floor all night long! I will be sure to recommend you guys to anyone looking for a DJ! Thanks again!”
★★★★★ Kristina & Brad in Harrison, Maine 9/7/2019

We had Ryan Gavin as our DJ and he was amazing! Ryan was so professional to work with before the wedding… We met with him early on to give us an idea of the things we should be thinking of, and he followed up with us before the wedding on last minute details as well. We loved using the online planning site too… it was so easy to use! Ryan was excellent with our guests and friendly too! He did both the reception and ceremony, and it was a small wedding but he made it feel like there was a big party going on the entire time! It was amazing and he turned our barn into a giant dance floor! Loved all the lights he set up and how he set up microphones for speeches. He really knew what he was doing, but he made sure we all knew what the plan was before the day of the wedding… because he didn’t want to bother us on our big day with questions or timing of things! I really enjoyed having him at our home celebrating with us! Thank you Ryan!”
★★★★★ Anna & Alex in Wells, Maine 9/1/2019

Hi Brian, Wow! What more can we say, other than thank you, from the bottom of our hearts. I truly believe that our day wouldn’t have been the same without a DJ, and I’m so glad that we found you! The night was purely magical and a night that we’ll never forget! From our “must-have” songs, our first dance, and everything in between – it was perfect! Thank you so much – we appreciate everything you did for us, and we hope to stay in touch!”
★★★★★ Sean & Samantha in North Yarmouth, Maine 8/31/2019

Ryan was awesome! He was flexible but still kept the schedule on track. He provided a lot of great advice and guidance upfront and made sure he knew exactly what we wanted beforehand. The music was great – he kept the dance floor packed all night! Highly recommend him to anyone looking for a down-to-earth and fun DJ with invaluable knowledge and experience.”
★★★★★ Kristen & Matthew in Windham, Maine 8/31/2019

Ryan was the DJ for both our ceremony and reception and did a phenomenal job! So many of our guests complimented all of the great music he played and said that it was the most fun they’ve had at a wedding. He did a great job playing a variety of music that perfectly fit our 90’s country tastes, while also accommodating the different ages and tastes of all our guests. We highly recommend him and appreciate everything he did to make our wedding extra special.”
★★★★★ McKenzie & Larry in Bridgton, Maine 8/24/2019

Hi Ryan, We just wanted to say thank you so much for everything on Saturday! It was so incredibly fun… and that’s all thanks to you for keeping up with our dancing friends! The music was perfect and everyone gave us huge compliments! We’ve already recommended you to a few family members. Thank you for keeping the dance floor full!!”
★★★★★ Kaitlyn & Kendall in Warren, Maine 8/17/2019

Ryan was great! He was so flexible and went above and beyond to incorporate any kind of music we wanted! He was always responsive via email and phone and was so kind and patient when it took us a while to get him finalized lists! He guided us through different parts of the day to make sure everything was perfect. Would definitely recommend!”
★★★★★ Nikka & Ivan in Portland, Maine 6/22/2019

Hey Ryan! Sam and I wanted to send a huge thank you to Brian, Dom and yourself! We were extremely pleased with how easy you guys were to work with, you were so accommodating, quickly got back to us, and made our wedding day so awesome! Brian & Dom went above and beyond to ensure everything went smoothly for our wedding… they arrived early to set up, the ceremony music was perfect and even with a super tight space in the venue they still made it work. They were so professional and were willing to stay an hour later at the last minute to keep the party going. Numerous guests commented on how awesome our DJs were! Thanks again, and we highly recommend your services to anyone!”
★★★★★ Tabby & Sam in Warren, Maine 6/22/2019

Our experience with Maine Made Weddings was absolutely amazing! Between working with Ryan on planning and coordination, to working with Brian on the perfect playlist for our wedding day, the whole process was awesome! My wife and I couldn’t be happier… Thank you SO much to the both of you for a great night. Highly impressed, thrilled with the service, and we would gladly recommend!!”
★★★★★ Greg & Alex in South Berwick, Maine 3/2/2019

We cannot say enough great things about Ryan! He was fantastic to work with, and he helped our dream wedding become a reality. He kept us informed throughout the night about timeframes and kept the beat going when it was time to dance. I would highly recommend Ryan to anyone looking for the perfect DJ!!”
★★★★★ Ashley & Wade in Wells, Maine 10/13/2018

Hi Ryan, Thank you so much! We had such an amazing time, our wedding was even more fun than we expected. You facilitated everything so smoothly and even went with the flow when we had last minute changes. We could tell that all of our guests were having a great time when the dance floor was still overflowing at last call! The next day we received many compliments on our DJ from not only friends but also family members who were happy that you played music they love and could dance to. You really created the party vibe we were hoping for! Thanks for being fun and professional and making sure our big day went smoothly! I will definitely recommend you to any friends looking for a DJ in the future!”
★★★★★ Emily & Chris in Greene, Maine 10/06/2018

We had Ryan Gavin as our DJ for the entire wedding (ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception.) He was incredible! I did not make a playlist at all for the reception, I just had a few songs I wanted played and he did all the rest! People attending kept telling me that my playlist was great but I didn’t have anything to do with it! Ryan knew exactly what the vibe of the group was and which songs kept the dance floor busy the entire night. He was actively sound mixing during our ceremony to make sure that the wind wasn’t impacting the quality of our ceremony. Just very thoughtful and professional. Highly recommend for your wedding!”
★★★★★ Alexa & Joe in Millinocket, Maine 08/18/2018

Ryan was our DJ for our wedding at the Mountain House in Newry, and he was fabulous! We had booked him about a year prior to our event and he was so helpful throughout the entire planning process of our wedding. He was easy to contact, quick to respond and had a ton of great ideas. His website had a bunch of great planning tools which we used and lists of great songs for dancing too! He helped us with planning the flow of our wedding and did both the ceremony and the reception. Ryan gave us a timeline with all of our selections and even sent an audio clip of the song I walked down to isle to as a surprise for my now husband. He is super professional and so easy to work with. Some of our guests and the and venue staff were a bit difficult on wedding day, but Ryan was incredibly professional and handled everything… and most importantly, he made our day stress-free. We cannot recommend Ryan highly enough! The music selections he made had all of our guests up and dancing! Five days later my feet still hurt from dancing nonstop!”
★★★★★ Colleen & Nick in Newry, Maine 07/21/2018

There’s a reason why we booked Ryan almost a year and a half before our wedding date. A few close friends from college recommended him to us, and our wedding reception turned out to be one of the best nights of our lives! Ryan had 100 people on the dance floor for over two and a half hours on a hot night in Maine, and we’ve got the videos to prove it! From his touching details at our ceremony to playing all of our favorite music at dinner, Ryan’s music and DJ expertise was the one part of our wedding day that really made it a wedding. And he’s even on the radio! Fans for life.”
★★★★★ Tim & Becca in Boothbay Harbor, Maine 06/24/2018

We don’t even know where to start! From the minute we first talked with Ryan, we knew that our wedding was going to be awesome. His attention to detail while we planned our dream wedding and reception was astounding, but we were really blown away by the way he picked some of our favorite music just by talking to us about what we liked! We were torn between a few different DJs for our barn wedding this year, but I can’t even imagine what it would have been like without Ryan! We highly recommend him to anyone who wants a party where everyone gets up and keeps dancing all night long!”
★★★★★ Tiffany & Luke in Fryeburg, Maine 05/26/2018

Ryan was absolutely amazing, and he was great behind the microphone! Ryan helped us plan both our ceremony and reception, and he helped create such a fun atmosphere at the wedding. I have to say he made the wedding so fantastic and everyone loved the music all night long! I highly recommend him… over 100% amazing!”
★★★★★ Mike & Monica in Bangor, Maine 10/22/17

Ryan did a great job at our wedding on board the Bay Mist! He was in contact leading up to the day, and was extremely flexible. He was willing to work with us, and help us decide on music choices too. I’m sure we didn’t stick to the plan on the day of, but he was great at going with the flow and making adjustments as we needed them. I highly recommend Ryan with Maine Made Weddings. Thank you!”
★★★★★ Nikki & Dan in Portland, Maine 9/16/2017

Ryan did an AMAZING job at our wedding reception this fall at the Portland Marriott Hotel. The guests were on the dance floor all night long! We just couldn’t have asked for a better DJ. Thank you Ryan for making the process smooth and easy for us newly weds. Highly Recommended!”
★★★★★ Amanda & Michael in South Portland, Maine 9/9/2017

Ryan was our DJ this past weekend (June 17th, 2017) for our wedding located at Joseph’s by the Sea in Old Orchard Beach, ME and he did an outstanding job! Everything we asked for, he did! And let me also mention that we live 5 hours away from Maine, but he was so good with communicating… We couldn’t have asked for a better DJ. He played just the right music to keep everyone out on the dance floor, and he went above and beyond to make sure our wedding day was absolutely perfect. I will recommend him over and over again!”
★★★★★ Ashley & Ryan in Old Orchard Beach, Maine 6/17/2017

Ryan was AMAZING. We can’t even begin to say how great it was working with Ryan! Not only did he help us plan our entire reception, the sound and music he delivered was out of this world. Even my 91 year old grandmother got up and danced with us! Ryan made it all so easy, and we still can’t get over how much he went above and beyond for us and our friends on our wedding day. We can’t say enough about how great our experience was. Book him!”
★★★★★ Jenn & Tim in Windham, Maine

We had a wonderful time working with Ryan as he got to know us and what we like to throw a party with music that reflected us while still being very-much crowd pleasing. Prompt and super reliable, he made planning fun and easy, and when we hit road blocks or had no idea what to do for certain things (wedding party procession music, for example), Ryan always pointed us in the right direction! His performance at our wedding was totally flawless and kept the night moving (literally!) with everyone dancing all the way to the very end. Ryan came highly recommended to us now we know why!”
★★★★★ Amanda & Mike in Saco, Maine

OMG We can’t recommend Ryan highly enough!! Terrific music, unbelievable sound at our large reception, and everyone LOVED the light show on the dance floor. People are still telling us (almost a year later!) how great Ryan was at our wedding. He even made sure to send us a copy of the final playlist he used at our wedding, because our friends in Wells want almost the exact same mix of music at their wedding coming up this summer! From planning to the day of our wedding, Ryan was great to work with. Thanks so much!!”
★★★★★ Lynn & Andrew in Scarborough, Maine

LOVED working with Ryan!! Neither of us were really crazy about most wedding DJ’s we’ve seen in action, but Ryan was the absolute best, we couldn’t have been happier. He was immediately responsive from the first email and really made the process leading up to the wedding stress-free. My husband and I were probably the worst because we have completely different tastes in music, but Ryan knew just what to do, and worked with us on our playlist three times before the wedding. We had a daytime wedding on a pretty hot day, so we weren’t sure if everyone would be dancing the whole time, but Ryan kept an awesome vibe throughout the day – we’ve been getting compliments on how great he was ever since!”
★★★★★ Kenneth & Ian in Freeport, Maine

Ryan did an absolutely excellent job at our wedding. It was so easy to work with him, we couldn’t even believe how easy the process was. We’ll definitely recommend Ryan to our friends who just got engaged!”
★★★★★ Sarah & Tom in Brunswick, Maine

These are just a few of the dozens of thank-you notes and letters we’ve received over the last few years. Don’t just take their word for how great our service is, though. When you contact us, we’ll provide you with a free quote, walk you through the process, and you can see for yourself how great it is to book with Ryan!